Bookshelf #14

Light

One resolution (if you could even call it that…) for this new year has been to read more for fun. I love books, but with the weight of researching and writing a dissertation on my shoulders, I often feel guilty about reading anything outside that very specific realm.

This year, however, I will make an effort to read the novels and essays that have been sitting on my nightstand forever and take time out of the day to do something nice and engaging that is not connected to additional screen time.

One idea that I found extremely inspiring and feasible came from one of my favorite blogs, A Cup of Jo. Joanna talks about creating an ‘articles club’ where, just like in a book club, you regularly discuss articles with a group of friends. I love this idea!

Books are great, but articles can be prepared ad hoc and related more closely to distinct areas of life or political/cultural/economic world events. You could also relate this idea to short stories or longer essays, whatever strikes your fancy.

So I am thinking about starting a club like this IRL, to make reading more into a social event, but also to keep myself accountable in my efforts to read more.

What do you think?

Leave a Reply

