ColourPop Haul: Lips

Back around Thanksgiving, ColourPop offered a one-off deal on free international shipping, and seeing as I unfortunately don’t have a North American address anymore, I jumped at the opportunity and hauled a few goodies.

A couple of items were birthday presents, so I don’t have them to show anymore, but I ordered enough stuff for myself to comprise a two part haul (the second part is coming up later this month). First up: lips.

p1000683

Since I’ve read mixed reviews on their Ultra Matte liquid lipstick, I decided to stick with the tried and tested Lippie Stix formula and order two more shades – Bossy and Contempo.

Bossy is right up my alley, a neutral tomato red that is bright without being too garish. The formula is matte but not uncomfortable and easy to apply. Still, I would suggest neatening up the edges with a lip brush since the bullet is slim but not overly precise.

p1000684

The second shade, Contempo, is a strange one. A beautiful darkened mauve in the tube, this comes up a bit too cool-toned and grey on my skin tone. Maybe it is just because I am not used to seeing this sort of color on myself, but it looked a little off. I am trying to work with it nonetheless and will keep you updated if I find a combination that works for me.

p1000685

The formula, however, is gorgeous as well. Opaque in one swipe, this too deposits a matte lip color that isn’t too drying or flaky. If you can get your hands on these little lipsticks, be sure to pick up a few shades.

PS: For any other Europeans out there, I had to pay customs fees in the end. It wasn’t a significant amount, but I had to go pick up the package at the customs office, so keep that in my if they offer the free worldwide shipping deal again.

Leave a Reply

