Home Edit: Shelf Styling

If you look at my Pinterest, it is blatantly clear that I have a thing for walls of shelves. So when I moved a few months ago, there was no question that I had to install one of those myself. After a taxing trip to Ikea and a long night of leveling out the individual shelves, I now have my lovely wall that stores everything from books to paperwork to mementos.

Along the way, I have made some mistakes but after I’ve found a method to my madness, I have corralled a few tips to style a shelf wall. Keep in mind that this is by no means perfect (see the vestigal cable at the bottom) since it is a space that needs to hold everything and anything, not just the pretty stuff.

P1000646

 

  • books, books, books – I know not everyone is a big reader, but in my opinion, shelves are for books and that has become the main focus of my wall. I know stacks of coffee table books are way more chic than rows of mismatched paperbacks, but for me, it is much more stimulating to see my favorite novels in neat order (which is why I opted out of the oh so popular rainbow organizing system).
  • cohesion – as much as I could I have tried to keep everything that is not a book in a concise color palette, bar for a few pops of color. As you can see, I have some pretty statement wallpaper right to side of the shelf wall, so I tied to keep it as muted as possible on the shelves with lots of white and muted pastels.
  • greenery – while I don’t have much of a green thumb, I added some cute succulents to break up the rows of paperbacks surrounding them. In their tiny white pots, they match the overall feel but add a bit of life and are easy to care for.
  • personal touches – I have added pictures of my family and little trinkets throughout to add a bit of personality and love to the wall. It not only helps to make the wall look more varied and airy but also reminds me of beautiful memories and the lovely people in my life.

So, all in all, this is far from rocket science, but I especially love this little space in my new home. While it unfortunately had to become a bit of a catchall for various odds and ends, I love how this wall of shelves (which are the LACK variety from Ikea btw) has become a focal point and an expression of personality in my small and cozy home.

Leave a Reply

