Highlighter Roundup

Highlighters – I can’t seem to quit them. In my quest for an ethereal glow, I have compiled quite the arsenal of powders and creams to achieve just that. While I have blogged about most of them before, here is a little roundup of my highlighter collection and what exactly I like to use them for.

P1000634

RMS Beauty Living Luminizer – this coconut oil based cream is probably the closest you can get to an actual lit from within-look. I like to apply this as a kind of luminizing primer, swiping it across my cheekbones before applying a base product and it gives the most gorgeous, natural glow you can think of. Because it is quite white in base tone, I think this works best for lighter skintones but I do know they now make a rose-gold version that would look amazing with more of a deeper skin.

Artdeco Strobing Powder – the latest addition to my stash, this is the highlighting powder I use the most for my everyday face. It is subtle but noticeable and works with most blushes perfectly. It sits great on the skin without emphasizing pores or texture, so it is a great choice for any skin type.

MAC Mineralize Skinfinish in Soft & Gentle – I think this is the first highlighting type product I ever purchased and it still is in my collection for a good reason. The champagne shade is absolutely gorgeous and neutral enough to not interfere with the rest of my make-up. It is however, a highlighter that I would reserve for special occasions as it does contain larger shimmer particles than for example the Strobing Powder. That means that it is far more noticeable and packs a decent punch on the cheek.

MAC MSF in Redhead – this one I picked up years ago in a limited edition and for some reason, I still can’t part with it. With the three separate stripes of warm-toned rosey shades, it is a perfect mix-and-match highlighter that can go neutral or more blush-toned depending in what you want. Formula-wise, it is similar to Soft & Gentle, shimmery with a great pay-off, so again, definitely one for special occasions or if you’re feeling a really shimmery blush.

Becca Shimmering Skin Perfector Pressed in Moonstone – and finally, the highlighting powder. A pretty yellow-based cream shade, Moonstone is the perfect brightening highlighter that makes your cheeks absolutely gleam. While it is not subtle, it is fine enough to look incredibly chic and sophisticated while really bringing the glow. Fare lightly with this one, as it is very pigmented but overall, if you’re looking for a great highlighting powder, Becca is your best call.

One thought on “Highlighter Roundup

Leave a Reply

