theBalm Committed

Liquid lipsticks are everywhere this year and I don’t think they’re going anywhere anytime soon.

So here we are, back with another product of that category and surprisingly, one that is not talked about enough in my opinion. TheBalm Meet Matt(e) Hughes Long-Lasting Liquid Lipstick definitely gets a trophy for the longest and most convoluted product name, but the lipstick itself is actually great.

P1000628

I picked up the shade Committed, a darkened rosey nude that looks absolutely gorgeous and is a great color for every day. On me, this is only a shade or two darker than my natural lip color, so it is the perfect lip color to look polished without overdoing it.

The formula is great as well. Almost mousse-like in texture, it goes on smooth and not at all streaky, with a lot of pigment and no shine. It dries down quickly and sets to a comfortable, light stain on the lips.

Now it might not be the longest lasting liquid lipstick of all time, but it also doesn’t make my lips look like shrivelled up prunes after mere minutes. And with a shade this natural, it is so easy to reapply and you are never left with that awful ring of color around your lipline.

The only thing that takes some getting used to is the smell. When I first opened this, I got a waft of chocolate and something I couldn’t quite put my finger on. Maybe paint thinner? My cousin then pinpointed it as smelling like an After Eight. Seeing as I’m not the biggest fan of chocolate and mint, it is no wonder that I didn’t like the smell but if you’re into that combination, you will love this liquid lipstick.

Still, the formula is so good, I am willing to take the strange scent for a few minutes.

One thought on “theBalm Committed

Leave a Reply

