Real Techniques Miracle Complexion Sponge

It seems to me that every few years, there is a resurgence of certain beauty techniques and suddenly, applying your make-up one specific way is all the rage again. I remember the Beautyblender being one of those tools that everyone used a good couple of years ago and suddenly, nobody talked about it or used it anymore.

In 2015, it made a new appearance with beauty bloggers and Youtubers raving about it again and dozens of dupes being released on the market.

Since I am a huge fan of the Real Techniques brushes and as of now, am not willing to splash out on the real Beautyblender, I purchased one of their Miracle Complexion Sponges, seeing as it is often touted as being the closest to the original.

P1000632

I have to say, I get the hype. Applied with the damp sponge, my make-up looks natural and skinlike and even though the coverage does become lighter with this method, it looks so flawless and seamless that I am willing to dot on a bit more concealer afterwards in order to get that natural looking base.

I do, however, absolutely hate the cleaning process. I only own one of the sponges, so I feel like I am always cleaning it and often, I am too lazy to do it and revert back to a regular buffing brush. As you can see from the picture, the sponge does look worse for wear already, which is another reason I prefer the more affordable Real Techniques version over the original.

As I said, I have to give the Beautyblender a go to make a definitive comparison, but for now, I am good to go with the Miracle Complexion Sponge.

2 thoughts on “Real Techniques Miracle Complexion Sponge

  1. I’ve always been eyeing this one! Where did you purchase this from? I bought one (actually two – it was the 2pc pack) from Forever 21, it’s so bad I now use it as a facial wash sponge 😉

    1. Haha, oh no! I got mine at the local drugstore, but they’re almost always sold out, it’s a bit ridiculous, I know you can order them online several places, so I think that’s the best bet for now… xx

Leave a Reply

