Nars Velvet Matte Lip Pencil Cruella

One thing that North American beauty retailers definitely have figured out much better than their European counterparts are deluxe samples. Chances are you get a cute little mini version of your favorite product rather than a flimsy sachet.

This is also how I got my hands on a mini Nars Velvet Matte Lip Pencil in Cruella, a beautiful dark and vampy red.

P1000590

The pencil glides on nice and comfortable without being too matte or drying on first application. I noticed as well that the formula is a bit more sheer than I anticipated, so with a first swipe, you can get a pretty and wearable stain that is very day-appropriate.

The color can also be built upon a little bit to work the color up to a more bold dark red. Seeing as it is a lighter formula though, it is not as long-lasting as other, thicker matte offerings.

I am really glad to have been able to try out a smaller version of the Nars Velvet Matte Pencils, especially since I didn’t love the Satin version as much. This however, is such an easy matte in a gorgeous color that I am sure I will pick up a full size sometime soon. Cruella is a beautiful shade that I’m sure I will get a lot of use out of, but let me know if there are any other colors I need to check out from the line.

6 thoughts on “Nars Velvet Matte Lip Pencil Cruella

Leave a Reply

