Music Monday #16

For Music Mondays, I like to spotlight some of my favorite artists and the Scottish band Biffy Clyro has been at the top of that list for many years now, which is why it is high time I’ve talked about them.

I think I discovered Biffy in 2007, right around the time I graduated from high school. At that time, the band was already looking back on a  more than decade-long career, so I had a pretty hefty back catalogue to dive into and I’ve loved every minute of it.

Their first few records were really off the wall and experimental, which was right up my street at the time, but it was their 2007 release Puzzle that really wowed me and cemented my love for them. It is still one of my favorite Biffy albums and I listen to it all the time.

While I wasn’t crazy about their following album, Only Revolutions, their latest release full release Opposites, has been on constant rotation ever since it came out in 2013. It’s crazy to think that I haven’t grown tired of that record over the past three years, but really, it is one of my favorites ever.

I think they’re slated to release a record some time this year and I am beyond excited for that. I doubt there’s many people who haven’t heard about Biffy Clyro since they have gotten a lot of mainstream recognition over the past years, but please make sure you check them out if you love melodic, experimental rock music.

Leave a Reply

