MAC Retromatte Liquid Lipcolour

With the insane influx of liquid lipsticks in the last few years, it truly was only a matter of time until MAC came out with their own version of this trend.

Towards the end of last year, they released their Retromatte range, with fifteen shades of liquid lipcolor from nudes to bold brights and vampy dark shades.

Having heard good reviews, I picked up one of their colors, Fashion Legacy. A vibrant tomato red, this was a shade that was, surprisingly enough, missing from my stash, so I decided to give it ago in this formula.

P1000575

Much like any other liquid lipstick, this goes on somewhat shiny but dries down to a velvety matte finish. The formula is not too thick and the pointed applicator makes for a pretty precise application. The color is beautifully pigmented as well and goes on opaque in the first swipe. I have read that some of the darker colors are quite patchy, so the formula seems to vary between shades, but I had no issues at all with Fashion Legacy.

Also, this wears like a trooper. I wore this on a long afternoon in town which included coffee and dinner and there was only minimal fading. I have to say, though, that it is somewhat drying on the lips, but I think that is to be expected. Using a good lip balm is a must here and there definitely shouldn’t be any flaky bits when wearing a color like this.

All in all, I absolutely love this shade and I think it will carry me through to spring any summer nicely. While I can’t speak for the whole range, Fashion Legacy is definitely one of the most long-wearing and comfortable liquid lipsticks I have used.

 

One thought on “MAC Retromatte Liquid Lipcolour

Leave a Reply

