Style Staple: The Wool Coat

I find that the last dregs of winter are always the hardest. There are a few glimpses of spring already, but they are few and far between and the days still seem short and cold, so to make these last frigid weeks a bit more bearable, I picked ip a beautiful new winter coat to keep me warm.

Since coats are something I will only wear seasonally, I tend to get them in classic shapes and colors so they will last me for a fair few years and still look chic and stylish. Usually though, I am a pretty casual dresser, so what was sorely lacking from my collection was a smart, simple wool coat.

I decided to treat myself to the Cocoon Wool Coat by Vancouver-based brand Wilfred (sold in Aritzia) in a classic black as it is the epitome of timeless, classic chic while looking current and on trend.

f15_04_a05_48560_2398_on_a

(via aritzia.com | seen here in Charcoal)

While this piece has definitely been a splurge, I feel like it will see me through several cold seasons and a multitude of different occasions. Dressed down with a pair of sneakers, a beanie, and skinny jeans, this will look just as good as paired with a nice dress and pretty heels or boots.

It is also the softest coat I have ever felt and while it feels substantial enough for even the coldest of days, it is surprisingly light. Since I picked this up on the post-Christmas sales, I am even more excited about my purchase, but even at full price, I think this coat (or a similar one) is a great investment and a definite staple in my wardrobe.

One thought on “Style Staple: The Wool Coat

Leave a Reply

