Recently #16: 2016 Goals

IMG_3763

It’s a couple of weeks into the new year and I am safe and soundly back in Canada. For me, this arrival somehow marks the beginning of 2016 more than actual New Year’s Day, as I was comfortably shrouded in a post-holiday haze back then.

Now, I am ready to tackle this new year and most of all, make use of my remaining time here in the gorgeous Pacific North West. To help me focus and prioritize, here are a few of my 2016 goals:

  1. Make major headway on my dissertation – with the most substantial part of my research under my belt, I am ready to start the process of writing and editing. My first goal is to have one of the major chapters finished by the time I leave Canada, so it’s time to get going now.
  2. Take time for myself – as I work from home, this might seem like a weird goal, but I want to do more with my free time. I would love to take up my musical hobbies again, invest some more time into improving my cooking skills, and write and read for fun.
  3. Get back into yoga – at the beginning of last year, I really enjoyed doing a bit of at-home yoga practice, which showed very quickly in my overall health and especially my (shockingly poor) posture. An injury and subsequent surgery kept me from continuing for the rest of the year, but I think now is the time to get back into it.
  4. Travel – this, of course, is a ongoing life-goal of mine, but the time in this beautiful new environment has shown me that there’s so much more of the world to see. After the chaos that were my recent overseas flight, I am somewhat weary of traveling at the moment, but I am excited to plan some trips, big and small, for the rest of 2016.
Leave a Reply

