Music Monday #13: The National

There are some bands and albums that, for me, just scream fall. Brand New is one of them and my most recent discovery The National, falls into the same vein of gloomy, solemn indie rock.

Now The National are not a new band. In fact, they have been around for years, but this has been one of those cases where you’ve heard of a band forever but somehow never checked them out. Had I known I would love their music so much, I definitely wouldn’t have waited this long.

The National

A few weeks ago, I picked up their album High Violet on vinyl and I have enjoyed it tremendously. The songs Terrible Love and Bloodbuzz Ohio have shot straight to the top of my most listened to songs and the vibe of the album just fits so well with this time of year.

My favorite however, must be their latest release, Trouble Will Find Me. It has the same gloomy, thoughtful quality, but somehow combines it with a hit-worthy pop aesthetic, much like their earlier releases.

I have become a huge fan and it’s nice to be able to have access to a quite large back catalogue. I’m sure The National will be on heavy rotation for years to come.

Leave a Reply

