Travel Beauty Tips

With my recent bout of transatlantic flights (and more travel days coming up), I finally managed to corral a succinct beauty routine that kept my skin from freaking out after being exposed to the recycled, dry air in a plane.

If I could narrow it down to one word, it would be this – hydrate.

The most important thing is to keep skin clean and moisturized in order to fend of dry patches and blemishes. Aside from the obvious choices of antibacterial wipes and hand sanitizer, here are my top picks.

Travel Beauty

I tend to save up samples for when I travel, so I have little sachets of serums and oils on hand to apply consistently throughout a long haul flight. This time, I relied on the Liz Earle Superskin Concentrate to keep my skin supple, but a small selection for different concerns is always a good idea. I even threw in a few packs of the Fresh Lip Therapy Serum in there, which is a good call since (for me) lips are the first place to show cracked, dry skin.

Before I apply serum, I like spritz a bit of thermal water on for some extra hydration and slip. This Avène one is a classic and comes in a convenient size, but I think most companies do them now and there’s not too much of a difference. For oily skin, the La Roche-Posay Serozinc might be a good idea, but the Avène one is great in terms of soothing the skin.

Then I like to carry some sample sizes of regular moisturizer and eye cream to seal the deal. I’m not to fussy here, so I pick whatever is on hand. The La Roche-Posay Toleriane was an amazing pick though, since it provides a good amount of moisture without feeling heavy or containing any irritating scents.

And finally, the most important step is to hydrate from within. As someone who is very prone to migraines, it is my absolute priority to keep on top of my water intake. I picked up this BKR glass water bottle, which, while being a tad heavy, is amazing if you are not a fan of drinking from plastic all the time. It comes with a protecting silicone sleeve, so it is super sturdy and so far, I’ve been loving it. I picked up the opaque grey (London), but it comes in a variety of cool colors and to be quite honest, I am very tempted to pick up another one…

2 thoughts on “Travel Beauty Tips

Leave a Reply

