Brush Cleaning with Dr. Bronner’s Magic Soap

After trying out several different techniques for brush cleaning (expensive high-end brush cleaners, bar-soap, etc), I have now firmly settled on one thing – the Dr. Bronner’s Magic Soap.

This is somewhat of an odd product that sports a huge label full of sermons and bible verses and promises to do everything from cleaning your hair to cleaning the bathroom itself, but the results speak for themselves.

Dr Bronner's

I am still working my way through the second smallest bottle of unscented liquid soap and I have been using it for over two years to get my brushes squeaky clean and well conditioned. I haven’t experienced much shedding or drying out of my brushes with this soap, and even those that have been in my possession for years still look brand new and well cared for.

I usually put a bit in my hand after dampening the dirty brush and swirl and rinse with lukewarm water until my brush is clean. The only thing to look out for is to have the brush pointing downwards while rinsing in order to keep water from entering the ferule, which could loosen the glue and, consequently, the brush hairs.

If you can get past the unorthodox marketing, I would rate this the most effective and affordable brush cleaner that’s out there.

It also comes in a ton of different scents, and once my current bottle has run out, I will definitely pick up a scented version as the smell of the ‘unscented’ one is really the only (minor) thing I don’t like about this soap.

Leave a Reply

