Paul Mitchell Thickening Shampoo and Spray

When a hair product says ‘thickening’, I’m usually the first one to pounce in my ongoing quest for a flowing, voluminous head of hair. So quite recently, I decided to pick up a few products from the Paul Mitchell Thickening range – the Lemon Sage Thickening Shampoo and Lemon Sage Thickening Spray.

Paul Mitchell Lemon Sage Thickening

First of all, the smell of these products is gorgeous, it’s fresh, zingy, and slightly herbal, which I love, without the usual whiff of cleaning product that citrus-scented beauty products usually have. If they made a fragrance of this, I would probably be in front of the line to get it.

Unfortunately, this is where my praise ends, as I didn’t have much luck with this range at all.

In my honest opinion, they should probably rename the shampoo into ‘Clarifying Shampoo’, as it is very cleaning and does strip the hair of any product buildup. However, much like the Bumble and Bumble Sunday Shampoo, these clarifying formulas wreak a bit of havoc on my colored hair and have stripped it quite a bit. Also, instead of leaving my hair light and bouncy, I found that it got greasy again pretty quickly and lacked the promised volume.

The Thickening Spray also didn’t deliver a lot of volume but provided a good amount of hold. I now use it more as a detangling product, which, when brushed out does not leave my hair crispy and weighed down as it did when I used it as more of a styling product.

All in all, I don’t think the Paul Mitchell range (or any thickening range) is the one for me. I’ve come to the conclusion that I will probably fare a lot better with using a nourishing shampoo and leave the volumizing action to my styling products.

Leave a Reply

