MAC 227 Eyeshadow Brush

With make-up brushes, as with anything else beauty related, I tend to go through phases. I love a certain blush, lipstick, or brush for a while and then I usually move on to something new and exciting.

There are, however, a few tools and products that have truly stood the test of time, and the MAC 227 brush is one of them. I don’t think this brush is something that you absolutely need, but I have owned for a few years now and I can honestly say that I love having it in my collection.

MAC 227

It is a large, paddle-shaped eye shadow brush that makes it super easy and quick to sweep a color all over the lid. While it isn’t so perfect for blending, it makes applying eye shadow in a pinch a real treat. I even once had a MAC make-up artist apply concealer with this brush, which looked absolutely beautiful. Shape-wise, the 227 would also be great for contouring smaller areas like the nose, or do a really sharp contour on the cheekbones.

What I like most about it is how well it has held up. Unlike some of my other MAC brushes (I’m looking at you, 109…) there has been virtually no shedding with this one and it has remained as soft as ever throughout a shedload of washes.

So, if you own all of the holy grail MAC brushes and are looking to treat yourself, I would say go for the 227. It might not be one for the most intricate eye looks, but it is a multifunctional, high quality beauty tool.

Leave a Reply

