Bookshelf #4

As someone working in literature, I am always surrounded by stacks of novels and I do have a penchant for a good short story collection. But one genre of writing I never really got into is poetry.

However, recently I have been thinking that since I often don’t have a lot of time to read several chapters of a novel in one sitting, it might be nice to have some shorter pieces of fiction to dip in and out of. So I am willing to give poetry another go and maybe you guys have some suggestions of pieces or poets to check out!

Bukowski Cornered

My favorite poem is Charles Bukowski’s Cornered, which is beautifully blunt and prosaic. With his, much like with many other pieces of poetry, I do like the visual aspect, the impact that spaces and punctuation can have on how we read a text.

So please, if you have a favorite poem, leave a comment down below, I would love to check it out!

Leave a Reply

