Bookshelf #3

I haven’t had a huge amount of time to sit down and read lately, so I thought that today, I would show you what has been piling up on my bedside table.

My book piles are always divided into two categories – work and fun.For work, I have some L.A.-centric novels and non-fiction books that I’m excited to work through, the first one being Héctor Tobar’s The Barbarian Nurseries, which tells the story of a Mexican immigrant getting into conflict with the officials over a truly strange misunderstanding.

Books Los Angeles

The second (non-fiction) book is L.A. Noir by John Buntin, which takes a look at the crime fiction genre in L.A. through the lens of real life events. Then, there’s James Frey’s Bright Shiny Morning, which comes highly suggested and takes place in the Hollywood scene.

Bookshelf 3

On my ‘for fun’ reading pile there are only two novels as of now. Donna Tartt’s The Goldfinch has been sitting on my bedside table for quite some time now, but the hefty page number and the alleged slow start have made me a bit hesitant to get going. This might be one to save for a vacation or a long flight.

And finally, I recently picked up Paolo Giordano’s The Solitude of Prime Numbers. The amazing title drew me in instantly and I think this one got out on my radar via a few bestseller lists, so I’m hoping for something good.

So guys, what’s on your ‘to read’ lists as of now? Or have you read any of the books on my list? Let me know!

3 thoughts on “Bookshelf #3

Leave a Reply

