Winter Edit: Nails

Before winter takes its final bow, I am thoroughly enjoying dark nails to go with the dreary weather. While I’m longing for longer days and less snow, I do love a deep shade on my nails during this time of year. I’m not one for the glitters that make their rounds around Christmas, but a nice sultry cream shade is something I cannot fault.

As per usual, I go for Essie polishes to get my color fix. Since they reformulated their brushes, I find that Essie polishes just go on the easiest and their range of shades really has something for anyone.

Winter Nails

Some of these shades are limited edition, so I’m not sure if you’d be able to pick them up anymore, but they all veer on the edge of black, so it’s really a choice of undertone.

Essie Blue and Green

If I want to go for a not quite black but super vampy shade, I my first pick is After School Boy Blazer, a dark dark indigo blue that looks softer than a carbon black but still makes a huge impact,

For something a little different, I like Stylenomics, a deep mossy green that reveals its true color in the sunlight and makes for a great change from more classic dark shades.

Essie Red and Pink

Such a classic dark red wine color is Skirting the Issue, which I believe was part of a Christmas collection. I love this shade because it makes for super classy and chic nail. I think Essie Wicked might be a bit darker, but otherwise that would be a nice dupe from the permanent collection.

And finally, I’ve already mentioned Bahama Mama, which goes in the same vein as Skirting the Issue but has more of a warm purple/pink undertone. This is probably my most worn polish of this winter but also one that can ease me into a transition to lighter spring colors.

Leave a Reply

