Closet Revamp

In an effort to make my upcoming move a bit easier, I spent a good chunk of last weekend purging my closet. There little else that gives me the same satisfaction as getting rid of unwanted junk in my life. And let me tell you, there was A LOT of junk. I am essentially merging two closets (or rather a closet and a clothing rack), so it was hard to get an overview of the situation at first, but I think I did pretty well.

Closet Revamp

Since my closet was and still is a plethora of monochrome pieces, it wouldn’t be much use showing you the state of it, so I decided to corral some tips that have helped me in the process instead.

1. The Hanger Trick

At the end of 2013, I went through my closet and turned around all the hangers. I would only turn them back when I took out a piece to wear, so by the end of last year, I had a pretty good sense of what I actually wore. I let everything that I had worn be and then proceeded to go through the stuff that hadn’t been touched and evaluated from there.

2. Be Honest

Looking at all the unworn clothes, I still felt attached to some of the pieces, which made it a lot harder for me to give them away. But I decided to be completely honest and think about occasions to wear them to and if there really was the need to hang on to a certain item. Most of the time, I couldn’t come up with anything, so I decided to let those pieces go. It’s an oddly liberating feeling and makes you think about your style and tastes a lot more. Also, if it’s torn or ripped, be honest about your ability to mend clothes. I always promise to fix something and never do, so those things usually get shoved to the back of the closet as well.

3. Consider the Seasons

There’s one thing to keep in mind with the Hanger Trick and that is seasons. Since we didn’t have a very harsh winter last year, a lot of my super thick knits and cozy clothes didn’t get the use they normally would have. If I know I need something for a certain type of weather and I still like the look of it, I’ll keep it. It’s no use throwing out a perfectly fine winter coat if you’re only going to pick up another one when the first snow comes around.

4. Be Sentimental but Reasonable

Of course there are those pieces that have a sentimental value and carry memories. For example, I still have the dress I wore to my brother’s wedding 9 years ago, and even though it’s not my style at all anymore, I love it too much to give it away. For these types of clothes, I reserve and extra bit of space in my closet and keep them away from my everyday stuff. That way, they don’t bother me while rifling through everything else, and I know which section of my closet to head to when I’m looking for something fancy for a special occasion. I have dresses in there that have seen me through multiple festive occasions and it really is nice to have a little collection to rely on if you can’t find the right thing in the stores.

3 thoughts on “Closet Revamp

Leave a Reply

