The Bookshelf #1

Lately I’ve been thinking about how I don’t really read a lot for pleasure, which is a shame since I love books with a passion (so much so that I’m making my way into a profession that completely revolves around literature).

Stack of Books

My desk is always swamped with novels, essays, articles and theory chapters but my nightstand is a different story altogether. Since my day to day is filled with researching, reading for fun is often reserved for train journeys or Sunday afternoons. And since I also love shopping for literature, my home is virtually swamped with books.

So this year, I am making a conscious effort to read more. Just for fun. And seeing as I have carved out this little corner of the internet for talking about my interests, I thought that I would document my progress on here. I’m not quite sure of the direction this will take, but I’m thinking about a mixture of reviews and recommendations of current literature as well as of some classics.

Woolfe To the Lighthouse

At the moment, I am reading Virginia Woolfe’s To the Lighthouse. I’m not finished yet, but I have to say that even though I am not the biggest fan of modernist writing, I really have enjoyed this novel. I love the characters and the thoughtfulness that have gone into the creation of this family story and how the atmosphere of the English seaside is so clearly transported.

With just a few dozen pages left, I am sure I will finish this book this week and I’ll make sure to let you know what’s next up on my reading list.

Leave a Reply

