Smashbox Hydrating Undereye Primer

One issue that truly divides the beauty blogger scene into two camps are primers. While some people deem them unnecessary, they are complete essentials for others. I however, sit somewhere in the middle.

I do like a face primer, because my skin is truly of the combination kind and I find that a good priming base prevents oils from coming through and creates more of an even canvas for my base. The same goes for eye primers, but when I heard of the Smashbox Hydrating Undereye Primer, I was doubtful to say the least.

Smashbox Hydrating Undereye Primer

Now as you can see, I have used a good bit of this primer and to be honest, I still don’t know how I feel about it. The formula is nice and hydrating without feeling to slippery or silicone-y. It also provides a nice base for my concealer to go on and since my under-eye circles are one of my main concerns when it comes to make-up, I do like the idea of giving to concealer something to stick to.

Smashbox Primer

But in the year or so that I’ve used this, I cannot say that it has truly changed the application of any under-eye products and I think it’s more down to the concealers and powders I use that my concealing efforts remain somewhat intact throughout the day. In fact, I actually found that using my Kiehl’s Micro-Blur provided much more of a visible smoothing effect than the Smashbox offering.

So would I repurchase? Probably not. It’s a nice idea in concept, but the product didn’t really deliver. I would rather put my money towards a nice, hydrating concealer with good coverage (more on that on Friday).

Leave a Reply

