Music Monday #2: Perfume Genius – Too Bright

One of my most recent additions to my record collection has been Perfume Genius‘ newest release Too Bright. 

Perfume Genius

Now it actually hasn’t been that long since I heard about singer/songwriter Mike Hadreas’s main project, but I have fallen for his music fast. I became interested in checking this album out when I saw a review on Anthony Fantano’s YouTube channel The Needle Drop, in which he rated Too Bright as one of his favorites of 2014.

I have to say, I completely agree with Anthony, and this album has been on (very) heavy rotation since Christmas. The music verges between soft, sad, energetic, and angry and therefore displays such an extensive range of emotion that it seems fitting for every mood.

I love the slower, more silent piano parts that Mike Hadreas is known for, but some of the more heavy, electronic pieces really hit home for me. There’s a reverence and urgency in his music that completely captures the listener and establishes an emotional connection that is really unique.

As I am a sucker for a good 80’s-sounding tune, one of my favorite songs is Fool, which has also made an appearance in my monthly playlist for January.

But I also love the softer I Decline, No Good, Too Bright, and especially All Along, which sound so amazingly fragile, intricate, and emotional that I could listen to these songs for hours (and have done so).

Queen and Longpig are some of the more heavily produced songs that have really caught my attention, and while they still purvey the essential Perfume Genius sound, I do love their beats and overall feel.

So if you are looking for a highly emotional and versatile album to listen to, I highly recommend checking out Too Bright and the entire back catalog of Perfume Genius’ work.

Leave a Reply

