2014 Favorites: Beauty

Happy Monday and welcome to Favorites Week! This week will be all about my top picks of 2014, from make-up to music to life stuff!

First up: Beauty and Skincare

2014 Beauty Favorites

2014 for me was the year of Nars and Hourglass. Since neither brand is readily available to me, I really took the plunge with some of the products I ordered and I haven’t been disappointed once. Both brands were featured in the Hero Products category, which goes to show how much I love their ranges.

For Nars, favorites have been the Tinted Moisturizer as well as the Pro Prime, which has been a staple since 2012(!). Pictured below is also my second tube of the Radiant Creamy Concealer, which is my go-to for under eye concealing (I use the shade ‘Vanilla’ btw).

Nars Favorites

Hourglass convinced with their Brow Arch Sculpting Pencil and the Ambient Lighting Palette, which are both absolutely stellar products that are worth the premium price tag.

Hourglass Favorites

I have talked about the Sephora Cream Lip Stains before and I still stand firmly by my love for them. If you are looking for long-lasting, pigmented and comfortable lip colors, look no further. I just wish they would add a few more brights to the existing collection.

Sephora Cream Lip Stain Favorites

A product I haven’t mentioned on here before, but one that has filled a gaping hole in my collection is the YSL Le Teint Touche Eclat Foundation. Whenever I needed something more than the Nars Tinted Moisturizer, I reached for this and couldn’t have been happier about it. It is a glowy, skin-like formula with a medium coverage that manages to even out my skintone without making my make-up look heavy or fake.

YSL Teint Touche Eclat

And finally, the very luxe eyeshadow that has been gracing my lids more than any other product this year is the By Terry Ombre Blackstar in Misty Rock. This little stick has really been worth its money, since it has transformed my eyeshadow game from laughably cack-handed to swipe and go perfection. If you want to splurge on one thing this year, I’d highly recommend you try this.

By Terry Ombre Blackstar Misty Rock Favorites

Another whole category that rocked my world were balm cleansers. Now these have been hyped up for the last couple of years, but they only came into my possession at the beginning of 2014. I’ve tried out a few, but the Clinique Take the Day Off Cleansing Balm has come out on top without a question. Without any added scents or fussy ingredients, this is a failsafe cleanser for every skin type that I am itching to make part of my collection again.

An honorable mention also has to go to the First Aid Beauty Ultra Repair Cream. Now I have only used this for the last few weeks of the year, but my skin gets ridiculously dry during fall and winter, so this one has been an amazing moisturizer to keep me from wanting to scratch my face off. Once again, it is as simple as can be – a clean feeling but highly moisturizing cream without an offensive small or any  outlandish claims.

First Aid Beauty Ultra Repair Cream

7 thoughts on “2014 Favorites: Beauty

      1. you’re most welcome lovely! my absolute faves were the Ombre Blackstars too but I also love the Sheer Expert Foundation, the brow gel, the Terrybly lipsticks formula is amazing, the new Terrybly Blushes, the new crazy expensive Densiliss foundation, this year’s releases tinted Baume de Roses, the Tea to Tan liquid bronzer… I have quite a few makeup items and love them all!
        lots of xx

      2. oh, let’s not forget about the Hyaluronic-Hydra Powder! it is one of the best finishing powders I have ever used. so versatile! the only downside to it is that it will make you look like Casper in flash photography!

Leave a Reply

