Hourglass Ambient Lighting Palette

This little palette has arguably been one of the most coveted and sought after make-up releases of the past two years. The Hourglass Ambient Lighting Powders have created a hype that I, too, couldn’t resist.

The fact that, in the beginning, this palette was strictly limited edition made me want it even more and sent me into a frenzy that even warranted the heftiest price tag and outrageous shipping costs – we’ve all been there, haven’t we?

I am happy to say that in this particular case, the product has lived up to its promise and has become a firm staple in my collection.

The Hourglass Ambient Lighting Palette comes with three powders that promise a perfecting function akin to that of a professionally lit setting. I wouldn’t go as far as saying they live up to this claim entirely, but the effect they give on the skin is indeed amazingly flattering.

Hourglass Ambient Lighting Palette

On the far left is Dim Light, a color that comes in the regular line-up of powders. It’s a creamy beige that I personally use as an all over powder to set foundation without mattifying too much. It doesn’t look cakey or powdery at all and provides a soft glow that is very natural.

The middle shade is the limited offering called Incandescent Light. Lighter in color than Dim Light, this makes for an amazing subtle highlight that I use both on the tops of my cheeks and the inner corners of my eyes. Even though I didn’t care for this powder at first, it has slowly but surely become the most used shade in the palette for me since it is never overpowering but looks incredibly soft and flattering when applied.

The shade on the right – Radiant Light – is another regular offering and one that I bust out mostly during the warmer months. Since I am incredibly pale, this color makes for a beautiful bronze glow on my cheeks and works perfectly in combination with a bold lip or eye, as it is very neutral in tone. It does provide a ‘lit form within’-glow to the face and adds a hint of warmth as well. I think this would also make a nice highlight or all over powder for darker skintones, so there really is something for everyone in this palette.

Hourglass has once again wowed me with their high quality products and I am trying to keep myself from ordering a few of their Ambient Lighting Blushes, which looks amazing as well. There might just be a post-Christmas perk in the cards for me…

4 thoughts on “Hourglass Ambient Lighting Palette

Leave a Reply

