Recently #3 – Media Edition

Today’s round-up focusses solely on my addiction to all forms of entertainment – books, podcasts, music, tv –  you name it, I probably love it.

Books

I haven’t had time to read for pleasure a lot lately, since I am working in literary studies and spend most of my time reading for projects, but I did love J.K. Rowling’s first ‘adult’ novel The Casual Vacancy. I’ve adored her style of writing in Harry Potter, and I have to say, I really enjoyed her first effort outside of that world. Aside from that, I am chipping away at two non-fiction works. The first is Richard Dawkins’ The God Delusion, which might be a tad theoretical and (ironically) preachy, but it really does speak to my science nerdy, atheist approach to life. The second is Grace Coddington’s autobiography Grace, which chronicles her rise from British model to creative director of American Vogue. I have been obsessed with her for years and her writing as wonderful, lighthearted and engaging as she seems to be. The book itself is a stunner for the coffee table as well, so I highly recommend.

Dawkins God Delusion

Podcasts

Due to a recent bout of car journeys and insomnia, I have been getting into Podcasts and my favorite one has to be Serial (of course). As I have mentioned in the past, I am not a lover of the crime genre, but much like the rest of the world, I am hooked on this non-fiction storyline. It might have to do with Sarah Koenig’s colloquial way of presenting the case, but I cannot wait for Thursdays to roll around with a new episode.

Music

My record collection has been growing slowly, and the latest addition has been Gerard Way’s first solo effort Hesitant Alien. I have always loved the former My Chemical Romance singer’s aesthetic and style, so it was no surprise that this debut album hooked me instantly. The artwork (which he designed himself) is stunning as well!

Since I am now well stocked on recent releases, my wishlist holds a lot of classics, which might be harder to find. I am hoping to score on some Dead Kennedy’s or Misfits records soon and I’ll be sure to let you know when I do.


Hesistant Alien

Aside from that, I have been listening to two artists recently who couldn’t be further apart in style. The first album I have been loving is Kendrick Lamar’s good kid, mA.A.d city, arguably the biggest release in Hip Hop of 2012. I just love his prolific storytelling and the concept of the album, so this has been a firm staple for a while now. The other artist is Lewis Watson, who has been featured heavily in my monthly playlists. I’ve been following this singer/songwriter since his first EP, and it has been a pleasure to see him grow as much as he has. If you like folk-y, indie music with a lot of heart, be sure to check him out.

TV

I haven’t really been watching anything new, but I finally finished Breaking Bad. As much as I loved the show, the episodes have always been too tense for me to binge-watch, so I got through it one at a time. And what can I say? I loved it. It was riveting, infuriating and emotional all at once.

As a bi-yearly tradition, I also have been re-watching all seasons of Gilmore Girls. This is one of those shows I can watch again and again, and I am sure a lot of you feel the same. Growing up with Rory and Lorelai is super nostalgic and kind of feels like home, so it makes for perfect fall TV.

And finally, I have jumped on the Grey’s Anatomy bandwagon about ten years after everyone else. Is anyone still watching this show? I have made it through 9 seasons so far (let’s just say summer was suuuuuper slow), and even though the show gets more ridiculous from episode to episode, I can’t stop watching.

Movies

I can’t say that I am a frequent movie-go-er, but I have watched two very nice films in the last few weeks. Incidentally, both have been movie adaptations.

The first one was This Is Where I Leave You featuring Tina Fey and Adam Driver amongst others. It’s a beautiful film about a family coming together and dealing with their issues in the wake of the father’s death. If you like funny and touching movies, this one’s for you.

The other movie I went to see was Gone Girl. I talked about the novel before and thankfully the movie did deliver as well. I was happy to see that Gillian Flynn, the author, also wrote the screenplay and I found that the storyline of the movie stayed very true to the book. It was a long film, which is always a bit difficult for me, but it was nicely paced and suspenseful. I really liked it, which is not always the case with adaptions of books, so this one get’s a big thumbs up from me.

3 thoughts on “Recently #3 – Media Edition

Leave a Reply

