Maybelline Color Elixir

If there’s one thing that defines me, beauty-wise, it is my love for a matte lip. Especially when going bold with the color, a matte texture always reads the most sophisticated and fuss-free to me.

So since I have never been one for gloss before, it was a huge surprise when I tried out the Maybelline Color Elixirs, colorful lip cremes that definitely pack a punch in the shine department – and loved them.

Maybelline Color Elixir

Alluring Coral

The first color I picked up was Alluring Coral, a creamy warm orange pink that screams summer. The color is nice and opaque and does not feel sticky at all on the lips. What I love most about this shade is that it leaves a nice pink-y stain when it wears off after a few hours. Also, the color fades nicely – no patchy-ness or goo collecting to be found here.

Rose Redefined

After being so pleased with the first color, I decided to grab a more neutral shade – Rose Redefined – which is a pink nude with a touch of mauve that pretty much matches my natural lip color. And while it is more sheer than the brighter colors, I love its effect on the lips. Another thing I love is the applicator, which has a great shape to trace out the lip line and distributes color nice and evenly.

Maybelline Color Elixir Swatches

One thing I have to mention is the scent/taste. It’s very noticeable and fruity, so if you’re sensitive to that, you might want to skip these.

Other than that, I completely adore these lip products. Their non-stickyness and nice wear make them a great starting point for gloss newbies. I am tempted to try out a few more colors, so who knows? I might just become a gloss convert…

One thought on “Maybelline Color Elixir

Leave a Reply

