Disappointing Products #1: Benefit They’re Real Liner

Today I’m coming at you with a bit of a disappointing product. While it doesn’t happen all the time, even the most tried and true beauty addicts aren’t safe from picking up a dud every once in a while.

Unfortunately, this one came from one of my favorite make-up brands, which stung even worse. The Benefit They’re Real Push Up Liner was promoted as an extension of the oh- so-famous (and fabulous) They’re Real Mascara and promised foolproof application and longevity.

P1000292

Now, the longevity part is very true. When I tried this product for the first time, it was applied by a super nice saleslady at my local Benefit counter and looked gorgeous. However, when I tried to remove the liner at the end of the day with my regular routine of Bioderma and a creamy cleanser, it did not budge. While I appreciate good staying power in a product, this Benefit offering hung around a bit too well and I was left with a hefty stack of dirty cotton pads and black flaky bits all over my face (and sheets).

P1000293

Also, I didn’t find the rubber nib to glide as  easily over the lids as it did in the make-up artists much more capable hands. The nib dragged and the product itself got stuck due it’s thick consistency, making for a jagged and uneven line and a huge amount of wasted product.

P1000295

I think that if you’re a liner pro, you would be able to work with the Push Up Liner just as well as with any other formula. For me however, a felt-tip liquid or even a gel liner and brush combo is much easier to handle and certainly allows for more control. While I think the concept of a gel liner in pen form is pretty cool, I don’t really believe it works out in practice.

So, if you have any suggestions on how to make better use of this liner or recommendations for other liners to check out, feel free to leave them in the comments – I might be converted into rocking bold liner after all!

Leave a Reply

