Fall Edit: Nails

I’m the first one to admit that I’m pretty crap at doing my nails. The last step in my routine is never topcoat, but damage control. I smudge, smear and chip, but that doesn’t keep my from buying new polishes like there’s no tomorrow.

Since my slapdash mode of application really does test a product, I actually have found a three-product-process that seems to work.

IMG_3805

First off is basecoat, and for this I like to use the Orly Bonder.

IMG_7350

It is dubbed a ‘rubberized basecoat’, which basically means that I provides a textured base that he nailpolish can cling to easily. From what I have experienced, this really helps with keeping chipping at bay, so I would totally recommend it.

For color, I chose Essie’s Bahama Mama. This is a new one to my collection (even though it has been part of their drugstore offering for a while now), and while I don’t think it is very aptly named, it is a gorgeous color for fall. A warm, dark pinkish purple, this really stands out on the nails and goes great with cozy knits and thicker coats.

IMG_0623

The formula is great (as per usual) and the brush is wonderfully wide, which makes application super quick and efficient.

Finally, I tried something now on top – the Sally Hansen Insta-Dri Top Coat.

IMG_7269

Sally Hansen is still pretty hard to come by around these parts, but when I saw this at the drugstore, I knew I had to try it out.

I’m not one for matte nails, so I do appreciate the high shine finish this gives, but drying time is really were it’s at here. I painted my nails with this combo right before sitting down to churn out this post and as I’m typing, they are completely dry to the touch. I haven’t been able to test out the longevity of both the color and the topcoat, but so far, I’m impressed.

One thought on “Fall Edit: Nails

Leave a Reply

