Favorites: Lip Balms

If there’s one thing I am completely addicted to, it’s lip balms. I have perpetually dry and cracked lips, so taking care of them and adding some hydration is a key step in my routine.

Obviously, I have tried a lot of lip balms in my time,  but the four below are (as of now) my ultimate favorites. There’s something for every occasion, so lets get started.

IMG_2778

 

Nuxe Reve De Miel

IMG_2780

This is by far my top pick for chapped lips. It is a really thick and moisturizing balm that sits matte on the lips. The formula makes it perfect for use under lipsticks as there is no shine that interferes with the lipstick finish, but it really shines (haha – see what I did there…) as an overnight treatment. The smell is also heavenly. Slightly sweet because of the honey, there’s also a distinctive citrus tinge to it that makes it absolutely delicious. If you have problems with seriously chapped and sore lips (especially in the coming colder months), I would highly recommend this little gem. (PS: I’ve tried the stick form of this as well and wasn’t impressed at all – go with the tub!!!)

 

Aesop Rosehip Seed Lip Cream

IMG_2781

This little tube sits at the opposite end of the  formula spectrum. It is a light cream, similar to a moisturizer, but it really packs a punch in terms of hydration. Because it sinks in super quickly, the lip cream is also a great product to use under any colored lip products. The only thing that slightly annoys me is that it does not smell (to me) of rosehip seeds at all. In fact, the only thing I can detect is sage, which isn’t even an ingredient  – weird. But aside from that, the Aesop offering is a wonderful option for day to day use.

 

Smith’s Rosebud Salve

IMG_2779

The Rosebud Salve is a real cult classic that I first discovered when I lived in the US. This is actually my second pot of the stuff and I have used the squeezy tube version as well (didn’t like it as much though). Formula-wise, it definitely is lighter than the Reve de Miel, but still moisturizes very well. It is shiny though, so it makes for a more glossy look on the lips. Here, we also get the yummy rose scent that the Aesop cream is lacking. The salve great for moisturizing the cuticles as well, so it is a real multi-use product and a firm staple in my collection.

 

Burt’s Bees Honey Lip Balm

IMG_2782

The most handbag-friendly and affordable product of the bunch, I really do love this stick for on-the-go lip hydration. The honey scent is super yummy and it glides over the lips without leaving a waxy film. As much as I like the Aesop cream, this is much more convenient to apply and makes for a mess-free lip product. I really can’t say enough good things about this lip balm, and since there are a ton of flavors available, there certainly is one for everybody.

4 thoughts on “Favorites: Lip Balms

Leave a Reply

