The Splurge: By Terry Ombre Blackstar

By Terry is a brand that has caught my attention since it first made its rounds around the beauty blogs and YouTube. Weirdly named products in luxe packaging and reviews that had a general tone of ‘over the moon’-goodness. 

IMG_2774

So when I went to Sephora a few months ago, I couldn’t help myself but snoop around the counter and treat myself to one of their cream eyeshadow sticks – the By Terry Ombre Blackstar in No. 5 Misty Rock. My wallet wept that day, but this pretty little stick seriously delivered. A taupe-y purple with obvious shimmer, this color is not something that I usually wear, but when I first applied it, I swear a heard a few angels singing.

IMG_2773

 

 IMG_2776

It is a creamy formula, which makes blending super easy, but it soon sets to a more budge-proof shadow that will last all day. For everyday wear, I like to blend this along my lashline over a skin-colored matte powder shadow, which makes for a lovely subtle pop of color and sparkle. But if you want to go all out, I suggest sweeping this all over the lid and blending it out with a darker matte powder for a smokey eye.

I am seriously tempted to pick up a few more shades of these, because even though they are expensive, I cannot fault these sticks. In the past, I haven’t had much luck with cream eyeshadows since the formula always seems too thick and gloopy – especially if they come in pot-form -but I can honestly say that the By Terry offering has won me over completely.

 

 

3 thoughts on “The Splurge: By Terry Ombre Blackstar

Leave a Reply

