Minis!

Even though my summer vacation fell through at the last minute this year, I am still enjoying what might arguably be one of the best parts of going away (at least for a beauty addict) – travel sizes!

IMG_0090

I’ve corralled all the minis from my stash into a sizeable collection and picked out the ones I liked most. I haven’t used everything shown above for long enough to give detailed reviews, but here’s the low-down on a few of my favorite beauty travel companions.

IMG_0091

First and foremost, the ubiquitous Bioderma. I love this to remove my eye make-up, even if I give my skin a more thorough cleanse after. I feels like water and does not irritate my eyes, which is a major plus during hay fever season. Even tough it falls short of removing more stubborn mascara formulas, this is a firm staple in my skincare stash, traveling or not.

IMG_0094

Into these bottles I have decanted my cleanser and face tanning product. The cleanser in question is the Clarins Extra Comfort Anti-Pollution Cleansing Cream, which is a fuss-free gentle cleanser that usually comes in a humongous squeeze tube that could not be more unfit for travelling, so I put a bit of it into this handy pump bottle.

Incidentally, the other product is also from Clarins. It is a subtle fake tan for the face called Liquid Bronze Self Tanning, which gives a nice glow that doesn’t make you look orange or like you have the wrong head screwed onto your pale body. I love both of these, so they were a no-brainer to bring along.

IMG_0095

Even more face products come in the form of the Bobbi Brown Hydrating Face Tonic, which was a gift-with-purchase, and a deluxe sample of Estée Lauder Advanced Night Repair that I snagged from my mom.

As you can see, I haven’t used the toner, since I use the La Roche Posay Serozinc in my usual routine, but it smells absolutely lovely from what I can tell.

The ANR however, I LOVE. Using this is an extremely pricey habit to keep up, which is why I was so excited when my mom passed this sample on to me. The serum is wonderful, it softens the skin and takes care of minor imperfections almost immediately. So if you want to treat yourself or have a birthday coming up, I highly recommend it.

IMG_0093

These Soap & Glory products came from a little sample bag I purchased around christmas time, so these have been sitting in my cupboard waiting to be used for quite some time. You can’t really go wrong with shower gels as long as they smell nice, so it was a go for the Soap & Glory Clean on Me, but the S&G The Righteous Butter was too scented for me and broke me out in a rash all over my legs. Bummer, because the smell is divine and from what I could tell, it was very hydrating as well…

IMG_0092

As a replacement for the body butter, I decided to pack this dinky little sample of the Kiehl’s Creme de Corps, which is much more subtle in scent and therefore works a lot better with my sensitive skin. It’s nice and nourishing and sinks in quickly, which is one of the most important factors for using body moisturizers during the summer.

For my face, I love the Kiehl’s Ultra Facial Cream, which is an extremely simple moisturizer in the best sense of the word. Not much else to say about this besides that, but it really is great stuff.

IMG_0096

Finally, some hair products. I haven’t been able to try out the Philip Kingsley No Scent No Colour Shampoo yet, but I have only heard great things about this product made for sensitive scalps. I will definitely report back once I’ve given it a whirl.

The mini John Frieda Luxurious Volume hairspray I picked up merely because it was the most appealing in the drugstore travel size aisle. I can’t say that it gives much hold to any hairstyle, but sprayed into the roots while tilting your head upside down, it does proved a bit of oomph to my rather flat and fine hair.

The random mini Argan Oil was thrown in for a bit of hydration through my ends, but I can’t seem to remember how it came into my possession. Mysterious!

So, this is it, my would have been travel size collection of skin and hair stuff that might just get another chance if I ever make it on another vacation. Fingers crossed!

XO B.

Leave a Reply

